Capital city: Hungary
Population: 9,8 million
Total area: 93,030 km2
The highest point: Kékes at 1,014 metres (3,327 ft)
Government: Parliamentary republic (President: János Áder)
Official language: Hungarian

Hungary is a country in Central Europe. The country was a kingdom for a thousand years and was a part of the Austro-Hungarian Empire. During the 20th century, it was under a Communist government until 1989, when a parliament was established. Today, Hungary is a parliamentary republic and a part of the European Union.

For centuries, Hungarian culture has been an integral part of European culture. Urban and rural architecture, enhanced by works of art, has not escaped the attention of UNESCO – allowing Hungary to boast eight listed World Heritage Sites.

The number of foreign visitors to Hungary has been increasing sharply over the last several years. Many come back after their first visit, to enjoy together with others all that Hungary has to offer. The main advantage of Hungary is the wealth, diversity and accessibility of cultural, historical and natural places of interest, all concentrated in a relatively small space that boast very serviceable standards of accommodation and dining facilities.

Other major urban areas include Debrecen, Szeged, Miskolc, Pécs and Győr. Among the country’s top tourist attractions is also Lake Balaton which is the Central Europe’s largest lake.

For more information about the Hungarian culture go to


GUARANT International spol. s r. o.
Českomoravská 19, 190 00  Prague 9
Czech Republic
Phone: +420 284 001 444